Chicken Scampi

So Chicken Scampi is one of my top five all-time meals. Mmmm.. sauteed chicken.. garlic… butter… pasta… peppers…. cheese.. mmmmmm… I believe I’ll go heat up a plate of leftovers while I type this.

OK, I’m back. Now this is a really simple dinner.

Ingredients:
1 – 2 lbs chicken meat
about 1 lb pasta
1/4 – 1/2 cup butter
heavy cream 1/4 – 1/2 cup
EVOO
salt
garlic and/or garlic powder
pepper
onions
bell peppers
parmesan reggiano
mozzarella cheese

For The Chicken:
I buy whole cut up fryers when they’re on sale for $.99 a lb. Yes, that means more work but like everything in life it also means more payoff. Here’s what I mean: I buy 3 lbs of whole cut up chicken for $3.00   I get about 2 – 2 1/2 lbs of chicken meat from that, and about a 1/2 – 1 lb of bones and fat. Well, if I bought boneless skinless chicken @ $1.99 a lb, I’d get 1 lb for $2.00 and I’d have slightly less chicken but less mess / fuss / prep time.
However, with the whole cut up chicken there is something those bones and fat give you — chicken stock.
How many of you buy chicken stock whenever you’re making a soup… or a gravy… or to add to your mashed potatoes / etc.?? I am hoarding chicken stock!!! Ask my hubby… it’s filling up our fridge and freezer. I am sure I could probably keep it in a tightly sealed jar just like tomato sauce is kept once it’s boiled. However I don’t know for sure, so until I find out, mine is mostly in the freezer.

Get a nice wooden cutting board, cut the fat and bones off your meat, throw them in a large pot of boiling water and you’ve got your own chicken stock. Add salt and season if you like. Let this boil for a while, I like for mine to have any extra pieces of meat almost falling off the bone. Then, I allow it to cool and feed the dogs those chicken pieces. They love me.

Drain all the good stock away from the bones and stuff… throw away that junk…and keep your stock 🙂

For The Chicken Meat:
Slice the chicken meat into strips.
Turn a pan on medium heat, lightly sprinkle some EVOO in pan.
sprinkly garlic powder, salt and pepper on chicken on both sides.
sautee chicken in pan on both sides.

For The Pasta:
If you really want to make this from scratch and / or you want to save money and really want to have the BEST tasting dish, you’ll head on over here to my Pasta Recipe!!! 
If you prefer dry noodles, that’s fine, either way, just prepare your pasta and boil it.  Once it’s boiled, drain, and set aside in the collander.

For The Peppers & Onions
I love sauteed peppers and onions.  Most of the awesome people in my family enjoy their flavors but not the texture.  So, this is what I do.  (Decide how you and your’s like to eat it and go for it). 
In a large pan, pour some EVOO in and turn up to medium/high.  Throw in some slices of onions and peppers.  Salt, pepper, stir.  Reduce heat to medium for a few minutes. 
While that’s going, I take some slices of peppers out of my freezer (yes, freezer)  I waste NO produce.  Click to learn how I Properly Freeze Peppers & Other Produce.  Next, either slice an onion or take a few slices out of the freezer.  Place pepper and onion slices (about 1/4 -1/2 an onion and about 1/3 a pepper) into a food processor.  Add a few cloves of garlic and grind.  Throw this in with the sauteed slices and turn heat down to simmer on low. 

**Next…**
Add sauteed chicken to the peppers and onions, toss in some butter (about 6 tbsp) and turn heat up to medium/high.  Sprinkle some garlic powder and salt on this, add a tbsp of EVOO, maybe a little more butter and let almost boil.  Give a quick stir and pour in your heavy cream.  allow to almost boil, reduce heat slightly, and let simmer until sauce thickens, stirring often.

Now, add your noodles.  Separate and stir, let them soak up the sauce.

Last:
Check your flavor, and add more salt, garlic powder and pepper; add more heavy cream, butter, or EVOO to taste.
Add about 1/4 – 1/2 cup of parmesan reggiano, stir well.

And Finally……
Dish up, picking peppers out for those who don’t like them
Sprinkle some mozzarella cheese on top

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

