Oh the Many Uses of Vinegar

Hi loves.
I’ve had the intention of sharing this bit of information for about 5 months and just haven’t gotten around to it. I’m not going to try and be fancy with this bit of information because quite frankly, life is getting hectic in 2012 and I’m going to simplify.

So, here is a quick glance list of SOME of the many, many uses of vinegar. Let me tell you friends, it wasn’t until last year that I began to understand vinegar’s importance… and if I were developing a list of the ten most important staples for a self-reliant home, (good idea, check back soon) vinegar would be near the top of the list.

DISTILLED WHITE VINEGAR:
*great cleaner for bathrooms/kitchens

*removes the urine odors out of carpets/upholstry

*use in the washing machine to remove ALL odors and as the best rinse agent you’ll ever find so fabric feels pure and new
–(This was brought to my attention from our friend & sister in Christ: Danielle @ Morethanfourwalls in her awesome post: Homemade Laundry Detergent. <– Click the link and print her recipe. Trust me.
If you’re a mom, it’ll be life-changing! Due to habit, I’m using an entire scoop per load… however a good friend of mine who recently started using Danielle’s recipe told me she’s only using a 1/4 cup per load and everything comes clean! WOW! Do the math, imagine how much $$ she’s saving! God Bless Danielle for her research and helpful heart for sharing this recipe with us mamas!!

*natural cleaner: mix with small amount of baking soda, water, and dish soap.

*deters cats/dogs from spraying in area: pour in spray bottle and spray area they are spraying in: this information was a life saver for us. Last spring our kitten began marking in the fireplace of all places! I used the vinegar and it stopped, and we got her fixed. Our male dog just began spraying.. err.. uh… sprayed our entire upstairs in the few days of no sleep following our lab’s interesting 24+ hour labor…. and the vinegar did the trick… again… Thank God!!!

*great ingredient to entertain kids and perform experiments: google search you’ll find enough activities to entertain the most demanding child (I could spend a long time adding many links and many experiments but since we’re all independent and full capable… I’ll keep this short and sweet. Google, or go to Pinterest. If you’d like to make it even easier, click the “follow me on Pinterest” link to the left and check out my living off the land and for the home boards. Done. 🙂

APPLE CIDER VINEGAR:
*takes the itch out of mosquito and other insect bites!!!: This was very good for me last summer. Also helps for sunburn, poison Ivy/Oak.

*relieves congestion: combine 1 tbsp vinegar with 8 oz water and drink

*Kills weeds, not grass

*naturally deworms chickens, even small dogs/cats: I add 1 tbsp to the large water feeder for the chickens and same for dogs.

*rinse agent for produce: pour 1 tbsp to water, dip produce, rinse

*ingredient for cooking / salad dressing / white or red wine vinegar

*Removes odor from hands

*Deodorizes sink drains:

*Removes rust: soak nuts and bolts overnight

*makes explosions/lava: mix with baking soda

NOTE: Remove Jewelry before using vinegar… certain jewelry such as pearls may be damaged from direct contact…

One thought on “Oh the Many Uses of Vinegar

  1. Thanks for this post! I use distilled white all the time (actually I just finished mopping the floors with it) but I've never used apple cider for anything other than cooking. I especially like the dewormer idea. thanks again!

Leave a Reply

