Happy Holidays?…. what? which holiday?

I haven’t posted in a long, long time (does that mean I’m on the naughty list)?
Like everyone else, I have been so wrapped up with all the “holiday” festivities. From mid November until now, I don’t think I’ve had a single day to do nothing….. which is fine by me, as I dislike boredom.  I have been busy with school “holiday” parties, baking, making gifts and items for My Etsy shop, participating in the 2011 Christmas HMGE and Linky Party

and of course, our traditional family Christmas festivities.

As you can see, I mentioned Christmas above.  We celebrate Christmas.  Therefore, we say Merry Christmas! 
My husband and I have had many conversations recently regarding the subject of what-to-say.  We have repeatedly come to one, simple conclusion.  Say whichever holiday you and yours’ celebrate!  There isn’t much that frustrates us more than hearing “Happy Holidays” in commercials, school parties, etc.  Really people?  Do we say “Happy Holidays” on the 4th of July?  On your birthday?  Valentine’s Day?  Oh, I know – Halloween?  ….. No?  THEN WHY SAY IT FOR CHRISTMAS!!!!????
Consumers need to stop accepting companies telling us that we’re so dumb, we won’t realize they have Santa, and elves, and a CHRISTMAS tree, and stockings, etc. in the commercial, but to sell more items, they say “Happy Holidays”.  Really?  Just pick one and say it!  I have had enough of this p.c. society.  It makes me sick.  I am a Christian, and even before I was a Christian, my family celebrated Christmas.  Not “the holidays”. 
If someone wishes me “Happy Kwanzaa”  I say, “Thank you, and to you, too!”  It is a friendly, celebratory greeting.  It doesn’t offend me at all when someone from a different culfural background offers a kind greeting to me, I’m honored by it.  Its a kind, SINCERE gesture.  But this “happy holidays” crap has got to stop!  PICK ONE!  Or, if you are a business “afraid of chosing one- therefore possibly alienating customers”  how about:
“Merry Christmas!  Happy Hanukkah!  Happy Kwanzaa!  Ramadan Mubarak!”
Stand for something people, PLEASE!  I respect those of all different backgrounds.  If businesses did in fact respect consumers, wouldn’t they honor each individual group, instead of none?  “Happy holidays” is a foolish sell-out.  We all have something uniquely special we can bring to the table.  Please, take a moment to ponder this subject and let me know what you think? 
And, incase I don’t make my way onto CYB before Christmas—
From my family to yours’: 

May God richly bless you in the new year!

Isaiah 9:6 “For unto us a Child is born, unto us a Son is given; and the government will be upon His shoulder. And His name will be called Wonderful, Counselor, Mighty God, Everlasting Father, Prince of Peace”.

Isaiah 7:14 “Therefore the Lord Himself will give you a sign: Behold, the virgin shall conceive and bear a Son, and shall call His name Immanuel”..

Leave a Reply

