Delicious Natural Hamburger or Hot Dog Buns

These are a hit in my household, and have been since day one. Gone are the days of buying buns! These buns are easy to make, delicious, and much healthier than store – bought buns. This recipe makes about 12 – 16 buns, depending on size.

Ingredients:
1 cup milk
1/2 cup water
1/4 cup butter
4 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 (.25 ounce) package instant yeast; if you buy in bulk, this equals 2 1/4 tsp.
2 tablespoons white sugar
1 1/2 teaspoons salt; coarse ground sea salt is great
1 egg

Directions
1. In a small saucepan, heat milk, water and butter until very warm, 120 degrees F (50 degrees C).
2. In a large bowl, mix together only 1 3/4 cup flour, yeast, sugar and salt. Mix milk mixture into flour mixture, and then mix in egg. Stir in the remaining flour, 1/2 cup at a time, beating well after each addition. When the dough has pulled together, turn it out onto a lightly floured surface, and knead until smooth and elastic, about 8 minutes.
3. Divide dough into 12 (or more) equal pieces.
for hamburger buns- Shape into smooth balls, and place on a greased baking sheet. Flatten slightly. Cover, and let rise for 35 minutes.
for hot dog buns- Shape each piece into a 6×4 inch rectangle. Starting with the longer side, roll up tightly, and pinch edges and ends to seal. Cover and let rise for 25 minutes.
4. Bake at 400 degrees F (200 degrees C) for 10 to 12 minutes, or until golden brown.

*These buns can be frozen; and frozen as dough – after allowing them to rise.
If planning ahead for future use, let rise in a metal baking dish. When risen, cover with foil and freeze. Or, my prefered method: Let them rise as directed above – on the cookie sheet -; then place directly into freezer, until frozen. Then, place in ziplock baggies and keep in freezer until ready to bake. This is essentially the same way I freeze my vegetables, as I discussed here, @ How To Properly Freeze Peppers & More These buns also keep well in the fridge; or for a few days in a bread basket.

*This recipe has many uses- from bacon, egg & cheese sandwiches, to pulled pork sandwhiches, or the latest creation and my new favorite:My Spicy Chicken Sandwiches. Don’t limit yourself! Enjoy. :b

One thought on “Delicious Natural Hamburger or Hot Dog Buns

  1. Melina @ CYB says:

    Reblogged this on Cultivating Your Branch and commented:

    I’m posting this again because I’ll be using it tonight and again this weekend we have have our first bbq of spring! (2nd of the year)…. but it’s almost that time where it seems every other night we’ll be grilling.. and I just got my husband a very nice grill / smoker this past weekend for an early Father’s Day gift 🙂
    I know this recipe will be helpful to you. Give it a try today! You can always freeze them and then just take them out as needed. Have a blessed evening!
    PS–
    there have been a multitude of major life changes in our home and in my personal life over the last few weeks so I apologize for many lapses in blogging. Thankfully, I’m free to do this as I please as it’s a personal decision and I earn no income from this blog. However, I’d like to spend more time and effort into helping you ladies CYB, so I’ll rededicate myself to this blog as soon as things get back to “normal”.

Leave a Reply

