Which Came First?

It’s That Age-Old Question….
Which Came First: The Chicken? Or The Egg?

Answer: The Chicken.

How do I know?  Well, this is my reasoning.  In Genesis, God created the heavens and the Earth, the stars – and told them where to shine, humans, and all living creatures.  God created the chicken with the ability to reproduce after fertilization.
Further proof —  An egg, without fertilization, is quite simply, an egg.
So, the next time you are asked this question, you know the correct answer!
Anyways, what if you could wake up every morning and have the most delicious, nutritious super-food delivered right to you?
We do. You can!
Have you ever tasted a fresh egg? If not, what are you waiting for?! Did you know that the average egg bought in a grocery store is forty-five days old? Eew. Read that again. Does that sound appealing? Think of all the nutrition that has been lost in a month and a half.
Now, if you love eggs as much as I do, or simply use them often in baking, you really should think about investing in your own chickens. Before you scoff, or roll your eyes at me, let me tell you I never thought I would own my own chickens.  However, prices continue to increase, and we were going through five dozen eggs in less than two weeks.  I knew I had to do something.  The feed & grain stores nearby were advertising baby chicks for Easter, and we didn’t think very long before deciding to do it.  We bought our baby chicks, brought them home, and started planning the location for the coop.
Of course… most people build or buy a coop before getting chickens, but we didn’t want to miss out on the baby chicks, and knew we could keep them in our backyard while they were small. It was only a month before they became roamers.
One thing I’ve learned about keeping chickens is that they will never stray from your land as long as they’ve got a safe place, food and water. We knew we had to finish the coop if we planned on benefitting from the eggs when they began laying. As soon as we had the coop finished, we were able to get the chickens inside very easily, by feeding them. Chickens love table scraps and can eat just about anything. We also keep a steady supply of water and feed for them. I will post more about keeping chickens soon; so if you’d like to have these every morning with only a little work, follow this page, subscribe for updates, or check back soon.

I love my free eggs every morning!

2 thoughts on “Which Came First?

  1. Love this post; you are so right on in my opinion. And having chickens is a wonderful thing. There is nothing like truly fresh eggs (as in laid at 5am and cooked at 6am!)

  2. Melina says:

    Exactly! Thank you. I love an egg every morning…

Leave a Reply

