If You Want To Hear God Laugh, Tell Him Your Plans

If you’re like me, your life was headed in one direction (yours) and when you came to know God, it changed course into uncharted territory. Or, if you’ve been a close follower of God your entire life, your path may have always been aligned with His.
No matter what your history has been, one thing is for sure: expect the unexpected.I was working full-time and had just enrolled in college when I found out I was expecting my first child. I had my future mapped out, and a baby wasn’t in my plans…. but there was my oldest… growing in my womb. When you’re trying to have a baby, you’re filled with joy and excitement when you get the results. However…. when you’re not trying to grow your family, there is a different range of emotions you feel… devastation… fear….. I wasn’t ready to be a mom. I was worried about my plans… I was worried about everything. Read more about my very slow alignment with God’s path here, Where Will Your Branch Grow?

So what issues are you faced with? Are there obstacles in your life you aren’t sure you can handle? Maybe you or a family member have been diagnosed with cancer. Maybe your life isn’t heading in the direction you planned, or maybe you feel your life is headed no where. Whatever you feel I can assure you God is at work.

One piece of wisdom I have to offer comes from the Bible, and the Beatles. Don’t worry. Give all your troubles to God, and let it be.


Published with Blogger-droid v1.7.4In Luke chapter one, Mary is visited by the angel Gabriel, who tells her that she has been chosen by God to carry His Son. Can you imagine being told by an angel that you will be carrying God’s Son? Not to mention, in those times, there was no such thing as a single mom… just think of what the outcome may have been if word got out that she was pregnant. How did Mary react? Showing no fear, she simply said, “Let it be…” and she praised God. Joseph also showed great faith in God as he accepted His plans for he and his bride. In fact, Luke chapter one is filled with examples of faith in uncertain times.

Whatever trials you face; when the unthinkable happens, remember the words Mary spoke, and let it be.
It’s all in God’s hands, it’s in His plans, and He promises that all trials and everything will be used for good.

Luke 1:26-55 NKJV

26 Now in the sixth month the angel Gabriel was sent by God to a city of Galilee named Nazareth, 27 to a virgin betrothed to a man whose name wasoseph, of the house of David. The virgin’s name was Mary. 28 And having come in, the angel said to her, “Rejoice, highly favored one, the Lord is with you; blessed are you among women!” [c] 29 But when she saw him, [d] she was troubled at his saying, and considered what manner of greeting this was. 30 Then the angel said to her, “Do not be afraid, Mary, for you have found favor with God. 31 And behold, you will conceive in your womb and bring forth a Son, and shall call His name JESUS. 32 He will be great, and will be called the Son of the Highest; and the Lord God will give Him the throne of His father David. 33 And He will reign over the house of Jacob forever, and of His kingdom there will be no end.” 34 Then Mary said to the angel, “How can this be, since I do not know a man?” 35 And the angel answered and said to her, “The Holy Spirit will come upon you, and the power of the Highest will overshadow you; therefore, also, that Holy One who is to be born will be called the Son of God. 36 Now indeed, Elizabeth your relative has also conceived a son in her old age; and this is now the sixth month for her who was called barren. 37 For with God nothing will be impossible.” 38 Then Mary said, “Behold the maidservant of the Lord! Let it be to me according to your word.” And the angel departed from her. Mary Visits Elizabeth 39 Now Mary arose in those days and went into the hill country with haste, to a city of Judah, 40 and entered the house of Zacharias and greeted Elizabeth. 41 And it happened, when Elizabeth heard the greeting of Mary, that the babe leaped in her womb; and Elizabeth was filled with the Holy Spirit. 42 Then she spoke out with a loud voice and said, “Blessed are you among women, and blessed is the fruit of your womb! 43 But why is this granted to me, that the mother of my Lord should come to me? 44 For indeed, as soon as the voice of your greeting sounded in my ears, the babe leaped in my womb for joy. 45 Blessed is she who believed, for there will be a fulfillment of those things which were told her from the Lord.” The Song of Mary 46 And Mary said: “ My soul magnifies the Lord, 47 And my spirit has rejoiced in God my Savior. 48 For He has regarded the lowly state of His maidservant; For behold, henceforth all generations will call me blessed. 49 For He who is mighty has done great things for me, And holy is His name. 50 And His mercy is on those who fear Him From generation to generation. 51 He has shown strength with His arm; He has scattered the proud in the imagination of their hearts. 52 He has put down the mighty from their thrones, And exalted the lowly. 53 He has filled the hungry with good things, And the rich He has sent away empty. 54 He has helped His servant Israel, In remembrance of His mercy, 55 As He spoke to our fathers, To Abraham and to his seed forever.”

Leave a Reply

