Perfect Party Dip

Going anywhere this weekend?  Playing hostess?  I’ve got the perfect dip for you.  Your people will LOVE it.  Just…….  don’t expect leftovers.

 This is my all time favorite dip to make for any gathering.  The funny thing is that it is essentially a stuffed pepper dip.  Yes, a stuffed jalapeno dip!  I was helping a friend prep for a party at their house and she taught me how to make their stuffed peppers…  I believe they learned how to make them from another friend of ours.  See how this works?  Share your recipes people!!!  A good recipe makes the world a better place!

So this started as a jalapeno popper dip and for about 6 months that’s all I made it for.  Sometime before the Super Bowl of 2011 (GO PACK!)  my husband had some friends stopping by.  They’d just left work and were coming over to threw back a few beers, grill out and enjoy a beautiful GA night.  I knew after working all day they’d be hungry so I wanted to have a few appetizers ready for them to snack on while my hubby manned the grill.  He told me that one of the guys couldn’t eat the peppers.

With short notice and not much else on hand, (I was planning my grocery trip for the following morning) I was searching for something they could all enjoy.  I had crackers… so I thought maybe I could make 1/2 the poppers I planned and use the rest of the stuffing as a dip.  Once I had the stuffing made a momentary wave of creativity came over me and I decided to try something.  (What could go wrong)?  I set aside 1/2 the dip, prepped the poppers and put them in the oven, and then I poured some almonds in the food processor and went for it.  As soon as I had my dip ready I put it in the oven and toasted it.  The guys arrived…. and it was a hit!

Want to make the dip? / poppers?   Here’s How:

                    INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 lb mild breakfast sausage (roll)
  • 1 8 oz. packet of cream cheese
  • parmesan cheese (about 3/4 – 1 cup)
  • jalapenos (for poppers recipe only)
  • almonds (for dip only)

1) Preheat oven to 350

2) Place sausage in pan, heat on medium, break sausage up into small bits while it browns.

3) Once sausage is browned, drain excess grease,  Lower heat to medium/low, add cream cheese, blend well.

4) Stir in about 3/4 of your parmesan cheese, blend.

–Jalapeno Poppers–

5) Cut the top off your jalapenos.  Next, slice them in half vertically.  Then, core your jalapenos.  Because I freeze my peppers, they’re like this and ready to go.

Learn how I freeze peppers and produce here:  http://wp.me/p2fyfB-2h

6) Lay your pepper slices on a cookie sheet with the insides up.  Get a 1/4 tsp measuring spoon or small spoon and fill the pepper slices.

7) Sprinkle your left over parmesan cheese on top of your yummy creations.

  • 8a) Either place in oven and bake like this (parmesan gets crispy and they’re delicious!!

(OR)

  • 8b) Place another pepper slice on top (inside down) to cover your creation… These are good too but option 1 is my favorite.

9) Bake for about 20-30 minutes.  ENJOY.

**Tip** Freeze your peppers ahead of time like I do.  It’s easy and you’ve conveniently prepped your peppers and produce.  You can enjoy baking with peppers without the fear of getting pepper juice in a cut… or your eye…   Seriously, your entire face may swell… and burn… if you accidentally squeeze pepper juice on your face…. trust me.

Don’t shoot pepper juice in your face.

Don’t.

–Sausage Dip–

  • (follow basic steps 1 – 4)

5) Place in an oven safe baking dish

6) Top with remaining parmesan cheese

7) Grind almonds in food processor.  Cover dip with ground almonds.

8) Bake for 20-30 minutes, until dip is bubbly and almonds are toasted.  ENJOY.

*Obviously almonds on top are optional…

and if you do in fact enjoy almonds, you can use almond slivers as well like the cheese balls have.  I tried it that way once as well and I liked it.

I have to say that the crispiness of the ground almonds just does it for me everytime.

So there you have it!  Two delicious recipes in one!

**If you try one or both recipes, please leave me a comment and tell me what you think!

2 thoughts on “Perfect Party Dip

  1. Danielle says:

    Sounds yummy! I will be trying this soon I believe!!

Leave a Reply

